Sunday, August 28, 2011

Series Review: Morganville Vampires

Glass Houses (Morganville Vampires, Book 1)Product Description:
Book 1 in The Morganville Vampires series for young adults grabs hold of you and doesn’t let go, even at the end of the book (make sure you have the next one ready!).  Claire Danvers is a 16 year old going to college after finishing high school in 2 years.   She finds a home in a nontraditional  setting with three other young people, Michael, Eve and Shane.

The Morganville Vampire series is a young adult series that doesn’t read like a young adult series.  The characters are complex, the stories have depth, emotions portrayed realistically and a reluctant set of heroes. 

As the series continues and we learn more about the town and its inhabitants, Amelie, Oliver, Myrnin, Frank, Monica and more, it’s very difficult to  not become spellbound with the characters.

The books read very easily, I read the 1st 10 (up-to-date now) in a few weeks.  Like most longer series, sometimes the series slows a bit and transitions into different storylines.  This one is no different.  The first few books or so you can read a little bit out of order and be fine, not be too lost in the story, but not for long.  The story really does build and for maximum enjoyment and comprehension, I recommend reading in order, starting with Glass Houses.

The series is well-drawn, a satisfying read for the young and the young-at-heart.  I fully recommend it to anyone who enjoys vampire books as well as those who enjoy young adult literature, indeed, people who enjoy a good read should add this series to their to-read list.

Sensuality: very light.  Sensual situations, sex in later books but  not very descriptive.

Rating: Most books 4 stars, some 5

The Dead Girls' Dance (Morganville Vampires, Book 2)Midnight Alley (Morganville Vampires, Book 3)Feast of Fools (Morganville Vampires, Book 4)Lord of Misrule (Morganville Vampires, Book 5)Carpe Corpus (Morganville Vampires, Book 6)
Fade Out (Morganville Vampires, Book 7)Kiss of Death (Morganville Vampires, Book 8)Ghost Town (Morganville Vampires, Book 9)Bite Club (Morganville Vampires, Book 10)

No comments:

Post a Comment