Monday, August 29, 2011

Book Review: Black Night (Black Wings)

Black Night (Black Wings)Product Description
Madeline Black is an Agent of death, meaning she escorts the souls of people who have died to the afterlife. Of course, not everyone is happy to see her...
If obstinate dead people were all that Maddy had to worry about, life would be much easier. But the best-laid plans of Agents and fallen angels often go awry. Deaths are occurring contrary to the natural order, Maddy's being stalked by foes inside and outside of her family, and her two loves-her bodyguard, Gabriel, and her doughnut-loving gargoyle, Beezle-have disappeared. But because Maddy is Lucifer's granddaughter, things are expected of her, things like delicate diplomatic missions to other realms.   Taken from amazon’s product description.

Book Review:
When I read the first book, Black Wings, I didn’t really expect a lot, mostly I read it because it sounded quite a lot different from my usual urban fantasy selections.  Much to my surprise, I really enjoyed the first and and eagerly anticipated the second book in the series, this one.  It did not disappoint.  If you thought the first one got complicated, this one surpasses!  Gabriel still seems flat as a character and I find myself  hoping someone, anyone (Nathaniel or JB would be fine with me, well OK, maybe not Nathaniel)  steps up and becomes a man, not a chess piece.
This is a complicated book.  It continues the great world-building of the last one and introduces fairies and werewolves to the cast of characters.  Christina Henry weaves a tale that keeps you on the edge of your seat in places, angers you in others, adds in laughs, a dash of heartbreak and a bit of a mystery for a very satisfying read. 
If you want something a bit different from the usual urban fantasy offerings, you might consider adding this book to your to-read list but read Black Wings  first.  It reads fairly quickly, but it’s  dark in places, dealing with demons, attempted murder, attempted rape and more.  I  hope I haven’t spoiled too much!
Sensuality: attempted rape
Rating: 4 stars

Sunday, August 28, 2011

Book Review: Eye of the Tempest

Eye of the Tempest (Jane True)Product Description
Nothing says "home" like being attacked by humans with very large guns, as Jane and Anyan discover when they arrive in Rockabill. These are professionals, brought into kill, and they bring Anyan down before either Jane or the barghest can react. Seeing Anyan fall awakens a terrible power within Jane, and she nearly destroys herself taking out their attackers.
Jane wakes, weeks later, to discover that she's not the only thing that's been stirring. Something underneath Rockabill is coming to life: something ancient, something powerful, and something that just might destroy the world.
Jane and her friends must act, striking out on a quest that only Jane can finish. For whatever lurks beneath the Old Sow must be stopped...and Jane's just the halfling for the job.  Taken from amazon product descriptions
Book Review:

Nicole Peeler knocks one out of the ballpark yet again.  The series continues the intriguing story of Jane True and all her friends from Rockabill, Maine.  Most of her friends from previous books return for a cameo at the least, some play much larger roles.  Blondie plays a large role in this book; she’s quite an intriguing character. 

The “bad guys” are at their evil best (******* Phaedra and her crew) as the kind of bad guys you want to jump into the book and hurt them yourself.

Jane learns quite a lot more about herself, her powers, the supernatural world and the history of how they all came about in this installment.  It’s a treat that leaves you waiting for the next installment due out spring 2012 if I remember correctly.

I HIGHLY recommend this series to people who enjoy strong women leads, urban fantasy, funny books, sarcastic inner monologues, basically to anyone who will listen to me!  Jane True is all of that and more.  She is truly becoming one of my favorite characters and I can’t wait to read the next one!

Sensuality: several sensual scenes, somewhat graphic

Rating 5 stars

Series Review: Morganville Vampires

Glass Houses (Morganville Vampires, Book 1)Product Description:
Book 1 in The Morganville Vampires series for young adults grabs hold of you and doesn’t let go, even at the end of the book (make sure you have the next one ready!).  Claire Danvers is a 16 year old going to college after finishing high school in 2 years.   She finds a home in a nontraditional  setting with three other young people, Michael, Eve and Shane.

The Morganville Vampire series is a young adult series that doesn’t read like a young adult series.  The characters are complex, the stories have depth, emotions portrayed realistically and a reluctant set of heroes. 

As the series continues and we learn more about the town and its inhabitants, Amelie, Oliver, Myrnin, Frank, Monica and more, it’s very difficult to  not become spellbound with the characters.

The books read very easily, I read the 1st 10 (up-to-date now) in a few weeks.  Like most longer series, sometimes the series slows a bit and transitions into different storylines.  This one is no different.  The first few books or so you can read a little bit out of order and be fine, not be too lost in the story, but not for long.  The story really does build and for maximum enjoyment and comprehension, I recommend reading in order, starting with Glass Houses.

The series is well-drawn, a satisfying read for the young and the young-at-heart.  I fully recommend it to anyone who enjoys vampire books as well as those who enjoy young adult literature, indeed, people who enjoy a good read should add this series to their to-read list.

Sensuality: very light.  Sensual situations, sex in later books but  not very descriptive.

Rating: Most books 4 stars, some 5

The Dead Girls' Dance (Morganville Vampires, Book 2)Midnight Alley (Morganville Vampires, Book 3)Feast of Fools (Morganville Vampires, Book 4)Lord of Misrule (Morganville Vampires, Book 5)Carpe Corpus (Morganville Vampires, Book 6)
Fade Out (Morganville Vampires, Book 7)Kiss of Death (Morganville Vampires, Book 8)Ghost Town (Morganville Vampires, Book 9)Bite Club (Morganville Vampires, Book 10)